Zegel Universiteit Leiden Toren Academiegebouw
Kloosterman Professorship in Mathematics

In 1986 the Mathematical Institute established a visiting professorship in mathematics, for two months a year, called the Kloosterman Chair.

Hendrik Douwe Kloosterman was born on April 9, 1900. After studying in Leiden, Copenhagen, Oxford, Göttingen and Hamburg, he was appointed "lector" in Leiden in 1930 and full professor in 1947. He died on May 6, 1968. He is mostly known for his work in analytic number theory on what we now call "Kloosterman sums".

Details on the life and work of Professor Kloosterman are available from a lecture of Professor Murre, a former student of Kloosterman, on the occasion of the appointment of the first Kloosterman Chair, Professor M. Artin.

The Kloosterman Centennial Celebration took place in Leiden on April 7, 2000.

Kloosterman Professors

1986 M. Artin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mass., U.S.A.
1987 H. Brézis, Université Paris VI, Paris, France
1988 A. Salomaa, University of Turku, Turku, Finland
1989 S.M. Ross, University of California, Berkeley, Cal., U.S.A.
1990 M. Barth, University of Erlangen, Erlangen, Germany
1991 J.C. Butcher, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1992 P.J. Bickel, University of California, Berkeley, Cal., U.S.A.
1993 H. Ehrig, Technical University Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1994 T. Oshima, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
1995 H.W. Lenstra, University of California, Berkeley, Cal., U.S.A
1996 G. Cybenko, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hannover, N.H., U.S.A.
1997 J.K. Hale, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, U.S.A.
1998 A.A. Borovkov, University of Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
1999 A. Granville, University of Georgia, Athens, U.S.A.
2000 J. Mallet-Paret, Brown University, Providence, RI, U.S.A.

Last modified by on Wednesday, 12-Apr-2000 18:11:29 MEST.